In a brief moment of clarity, I saw you. Unadulterated and without pretence, I saw you.

Your polished veneer and humble facade cracked and translucent, I saw you.
As transparent as frozen water. I saw you.

With stained eyes and soft lips, I tasted you. Bitter-sweet, saccharine like, I tasted you.

Over ripe lemons and unripened clementines, I tasted you.

With stained eyes, soft lips and uncovered ears, I heard you.
Quiet and sad, like an unappreciated ballad, I heard you.

With stained eyes, soft lips, uncovered ears, a sharp nose, I breathed you.
Wet grass, cold water, and cheap soap, I breathed you in.

Like old wine, and ripe peaches, I breathed you into me, one drop at a time.

With stained eyes, soft lips, uncovered ears, a sharp nose, and cold hands I felt you.

Blinded, tasteless, deaf and mute, I felt for you.

With reckless abandon, I fell into you.

With stained eyes, soft lips, uncovered ears, a sharp nose, cold hands and life, I woke.
I woke… From that moment of clarity.